Create New Account
Forgot Your Username?
Forgot Your Password?

National EMS Scope of Practice Model (2007)

Executive Summary

The National EMS Scope of Practice Model is a continuation of the commitment of the National Highway Traffic Safety Administration and the Health Resources and Services Administration to the implementation of the EMS Agenda for the Future. It is part of an integrated, interdependent system, first proposed in the EMS Education Agenda for the Future: A Systems Approach which endeavors to maximize efficiency, consistency of instructional quality, and student competence.

The National EMS Scope of Practice Model supports a system of EMS personnel licensure that is common in other allied health professions and is a guide for States in developing their Scope of Practice legislation, rules, and regulation. States following the National EMS Scope of Practice Model as closely as possible will increase the consistency of the nomenclature and competencies of EMS personnel nationwide, facilitate reciprocity, improve professional mobility and enhance the name recognition and public understanding of EMS.

The National EMS Scope of Practice Model defines and describes four levels of EMS licensure: Emergency Medical Responder (EMR), Emergency Medical Technician (EMT), Advanced EMT (AEMT), and Paramedic. Each level represents a unique role, set of skills, and knowledge base. National EMS Education Standards will be developed for each level. When used in conjunction with the National EMS Core Content, National EMS Certification, and National EMS Education Program Accreditation, the National EMS Scope of Practice Model and the National EMS Education Standards create a strong and interdependent system that will provide the foundation to assure the competency of out-of-hospital emergency medical personnel throughout the United States.

To read the complete document click here.

Return to Top