National Registry of Emergency Medical Technicians Launches New Certification Examinations for Paramedics and AEMTs

July 01, 2024
National Registry of Emergency Medical Technicians Launches New Certification Examinations for Paramedics and AEMTs

The examinations align the National Registry with other health-based professions, while retaining the rigor needed for advanced-level Emergency Medical Services (EMS) clinicians.   

(Columbus, Ohio) – Today, the National Registry of Emergency Medical Technicians launched new certification examinations for Paramedics and Advanced Emergency Medical Technicians (AEMTs), integrating new advancements in clinical practice, science, research, and technologies. These updates ensure that Paramedics and AEMTs are knowledgeable and prepared to manage emergency medical events.   

As the national certifying organization for emergency medical clinicians, it’s imperative that our examinations stay current with changes to our profession and evaluate candidates based on the best research and science available,” said Bill Seifarth, Executive Director at the National Registry. “Whenever someone calls 911, no matter where they are in the country, they trust that whoever arrives with the ambulance has the knowledge and skills to care for them. At the National Registry, we’re responsible for validating that trust by keeping our examinations up to date and ensuring all clinicians are competent to successfully respond to an emergency.”         

To ensure the National Registry’s certification examinations measure current practice, the most recent National EMS Practice Analysis and its subsequent Addendum were conducted to identify the knowledge, skills, abilities, and clinical judgment required for entry-level clinician competency. This information, coupled with the feedback from the EMS community and continuous collaboration with the National Registry’s accreditor, the National Commission for Certifying Agencies (NCCA), formed the foundation for these new examinations.  

The new Paramedic and AEMT certification examinations incorporate current EMS practices and use innovative item types that leverage interactive technology to evaluate candidates’ knowledge and clinical judgment in diverse ways beyond traditional multiple-choice or multiple-response formats,” explained Dr. Mihaiela Gugiu, Chief Assessment Officer at the National Registry. “These enhancements ensure a unified and thorough assessment process for all certification seekers.”  

The new examinations allow candidates to take a single comprehensive examination on one date, reducing logistical challenges while preserving the examinations’ rigor, consistent with standards in other health-based professions.  

Additional information about the examinations can be found online at or by listening to or watching the National Registry’s recently launched podcast, Registry Insider.     

About the National Registry of Emergency Medical Technicians 

The National Registry, established in 1970 as a non-profit organization, is the Nation’s Emergency Medical Services Certification organization. The National Registry is accredited by the National Commission for Certifying Agencies (NCCA), the accreditation body of the Institute for Credentialing Excellence. The National Registry maintains NCCA accreditation for each of the four certification programs: Emergency Medical Responder (NREMR), Emergency Medical Technician (NREMT), Advanced Emergency Medical Technician (NRAEMT), and Paramedic (NRP). Credentialing protects the public, assures consumers that professionals have met standards of practice, advances the EMS profession, and establishes standards of professional knowledge, skills, and practice. Additional information is available at and LinkedIn, Facebook, Instagram, YouTube, Reddit, TikTok, and X

Media Contact:
Shane Cartmill
Public Relations and Media Manager